Information Magazine about Adoption, Complex Cases of Fertility & Surrogacy
Types of Hysterectomy

Types of Hysterectomy

Hysterectomy or uterine removal is a major surgical technique and is a cause of infertility in women. Depending on the area removed, hysterectomy is classified as:

Partial hysterectomy
removal of the uterus not including the cervix.
Total or complete hysterectomy
removal of the uterus and the cervix.
Radical hysterectomy
removal of the uterus, cervix, and upper vagina. Sometimes this model of hysterectomy includes removal of the fallopian tubes and ovaries.

The patient becomes infertile after either of these types of hysterectomy, since the uterus is the essential organ for the implantation of the embryo.

Read the full article on: ( 89).
By Babygest Staff
Last Update: 02/03/2020
One comment
    1. So sad when a woman has become so sick that she has to get her uterus removed. My bestie suffered from ovarian cancer. It wasn’t detected immediately and thus, it was also affecting parts of her uterus. Now she’s infertile and struggles with it. I don’t know what advice I should give. They are currently trying to adopt but it’s a long and hard road. Surrogacy isn’t an option, as they’re not doing well financially.