Information Magazine about Adoption, Complex Cases of Fertility & Surrogacy
Phases in embryo implantation

Phases in embryo implantation

Embryo implantation is the process by which a blastocyst-stage embryo attaches to the endometrium, which is the inner wall of the uterus. It consists of 4 main stages:

  • First, the embryo is detached from the zona pellucida, leaving only the trofoectoderm (purple cells in the image) and the internal cell mass (blue color in the image).
  • It is then positioned in the endometrial epithelium, with the embryonic pole (where the internal cell mass is) towards the endometrium.
  • Subsequently, the trofoectoderm and endometrial epithelium are joined by adhesion molecules and pinopods, which are extensions of the endometrium that attract the blastocyst.
  • Finally, invasion occurs, after which the blastocyst is embedded in the endometrial stroma.
Read the full article on: ( 46).
By (embryologist) and (babygest staff).
Last Update: 09/25/2019
No comments
We use own cookies and third party cookies to offer you personalized ads and gather statistical data. If you continue the navigation we understand that you accept our cookies policy.