Information Magazine about Adoption, Complex Cases of Fertility & Surrogacy
Types of hysterectomy

Types of hysterectomy

Hysterectomy is a surgical procedure to remove the uterus. Without a uterus, embryo implantation will never take place, and therefore the woman is unable to get pregnant.

There exist three types of hysterectomy based on the number of organs removed:

Partial or subtotal hysterectomy
Only the upper part of the uterus is removed. The cervix is kept in place.
Total hysterectomy
The whole uterus and cervix are removed.
Radical hysterectomy
The surgeon removes the uterus, tissue on the sides of the uterus, the top part of the vagina, and the cervix. Usually done when cancer is present.

When the ovaries are removed, the procedure is called oophorectomy. If the tubes are removed as well, then it is known as salpingectomy. In these cases, the woman would need to use donor eggs and a surrogate to have children, as removing the ovaries means that she won't produce eggs anymore.

By Babygest Staff
Last Update: 03/07/2018